Academy News

Guest Speakers

Although site visits, cases studies, and traditional parliamentary style debates are the core of the National History Academy curriculum, guest speakers who are nationally recognized experts in their fields supplement the lessons with real-world examples. Among the over 20 guest speakers during 2018 were:

  • Douglas Bradburn, President & CEO of Mount Vernon
  • Jeff Buchheit, President of the Baltimore National Heritage Area
  • Gayle DeLashmutt, owner, President Monroe’s Oak Hill
  • Robert Duvall, Academy Award-winning actor
  • Brent Glass, Director Emeritus of the Smithsonian National Museum of American History
  • Ernest Green, one of the “Little Rock Nine”
  • Courtney Hobson, Maryland Lynching Memorial
  • Ed Lengel, Author of George Washington: First Entrepreneur
  • Ron Maxwell, Writer & Director, Gettysburg
  • Chris Miller, Piedmont Environmental Council
  • Dr. Matt Moen, President of the Gettysburg Foundation
  • Professor David Moss, Harvard Business School
  • Dr. Doug Owsley, Forensic Anthropologist
  • Jon Parish Peede, National Endowment for the Humanities
  • Dr. Matthew Pinsker, Lincoln Historian
  • Trevor Potter, former Chairman of the Federal Election Commission
  • Tracy Revis, Museum Designer
  • Margaret L. Richardson, former Commissioner of the IRS
  • David M. Rubenstein, Patriotic Philanthropist
  • Rodney Slater, Former US Secretary of Transportation
  • Mark Summers, Manager of Public and Educational Programs, Historic Jamestowne
  • Christine Woodhouse, Documentary Filmmaker